The Tudor court moved on quite a regular basis due to sanitary reasons. The palaces needed to be cleaned as they got smelly after a while. Henry VIII also moved when there were outbreaks of disease, such as plague or sweating sickness. Henry VIII's residences included Greenwich Palace, Nonesuch Palace, Richmond Palace, Hampton Court Palace, Windsor Castle, Whitehall and St James's Palace, and as he moved so did the court and his council.


2 thoughts on “What was the principal residence and office of the British monarchs during Tudor dynasty?”

  1. Astrid says:

    Where was the Tudors television series filmed?

    1. Claire says:

      Hi Astrid,
      It was filmed in Ireland. According to The Tudors Wiki site “All four seasons of “The Tudors” used Ardmore Studios, Luggala, Killruddery House and Gardens, Christchurch Cathedral in Dublin, Christ Church, Humewood Castle, Swords Castle, Drimnagh Castle and Powerscourt Estate in County Wicklow, Ireland”.

Please note: Comment moderation is currently enabled so there will be a delay between when you post your comment and when it shows up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *