19 May 1536 – Queen Anne Boleyn is beheaded at the Tower of London

Posted By on May 19, 2021

Today is the anniversary of the execution of Queen Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s second wife, on 19th May 1536.

Anne was beheaded within the Tower of London confines by a swordsman ordered from Calais. There were just seventeen days between her arrest and execution.

In this video, I explain exactly what happened on this day in 1536 and I also share some of Anne’s execution speech.

Later today, I’m on the Tudor Society Instagram answering questions people have asked about Anne Boleyn (from 3pm UK time) and then at 10pm UK time (5pm EDT/2pm PDT), I will be going live on The Anne Boleyn Files and Tudor Society YouTube Channel with a talk and Q&A session on Anne Boleyn’s fall and execution. I hope to see you there. The link for the live event is https://youtu.be/rx24XkZme4w.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap